entering the land of the gods

a study abroad journey

Home

Hey all! Yes, I am safe and home on U.S. soil in the fine land of South Dakota! I have spent the last 48 hours hugging and conversing with my family. You can only imagine the joy and relief in their eyes as I was reunited with them at the airport.

Yesterday was pretty tough for me. I woke up to a gray sky and made the mistake of unpacking my luggage so that everything from my trip is laying across my room. Then I realized that there was no where for me to put anything.

Opening my closet, winter clothes occupied the hangers and a pile of sweatshirts lay on the floor beside a box of mittens. I opened a gift bag to find Christmas gifts I had forgotten about in my rush to pack after the holidays in December. Similarly, all of my college bins were stacked up in our guest bedroom, still packed with clothes.

The task of unpacking and reorganizing seemed utterly daunting. All I could do is sit, stare out the window, and wonder how life can change so quickly!

I finally jumped into the shower, hoping that the warm water would give me some motivation for the rest of the day. I felt much better until I got to my closet once more. What do I wear?? For 5 months I have been satisfied with a simply wardrobe. I never had to question the weather- today is hot, tomorrow will be hot, etc 🙂 But now I have a full wardrobe once more, full of clothing that seems foreign to me now: fleece sweaters, skinny jeans, high heel shoes. The choices were overwhelming to me! I finally grabbed one of my light cotton shirts from Indian along with a pair of jeans.

Feeling tears coming on, I decided I need to get out of the house for a while. Spending an afternoon out with my family was just what I needed. I was able to return to my dirty bedroom and set my mind to the task of reorganizing my life! 🙂

Needless to say, today I am feeling much better. Surprisingly, I am not dealing with a lot of jet lag. I get pretty tired in the afternoon, but if I push through, I can count on a good nights sleep. I have been surprised at how comfortable my bed is! Sleeping on hard mattresses all semester, I forgot how heavenly a soft spring mattress feels like. I literally feel like I am sleeping on clouds!

Since I have settled in a bit, I am finally sitting down to blog and post some more pictures from my last trip- sorry to keep you waiting. Look forward to new posts throughout the week! As always, feel free to post questions or contact me with questions about my experience! Like many of you, I am not ready for this blog to be over yet either, so I shall try to extend it as long as I can 🙂

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Home

  1. Kathy Graven on said:

    Welcome home! Re-entry is the hardest part of the journey sometimes. Day by day is the only way to get through… I sent you a little something c/o your mom, look for it this week. Your journey doesn’t end, it just starts a new phase. Love and hugs…Kathy

  2. Nancy TUcker on said:

    I have loved your blog and lived through you and Paige Tucker (Arkansas) who was in India at the same time as you. She too arrived safely and tells new stories every day of one adventure or another. The experience is one that you girls will NEVER forget, as I know it has changed the way Paige looks at the world. So glad to be able to share your thoughts and experiences from India as well. Journalism a possibility for your future? You could have a career from my perspective, excellent writing of the feeling of the country, wonderful to have known you through this last semester. (:

Leave a Reply

