entering the land of the gods

a study abroad journey

24 hour Reality Check

The presents are unwrapped, the lefse is devoured, and today, I woke up to a gorgeous South Dakota snowfall…what a perfect day for packing 🙂 Image

With less than 48 hours till departure, I figured it was a good time to tackle the pile in the corner of my room, that is, after I shoveled the snowy driveway. I turned on Hindi Beat radio on Pandora, brewed a cup of coffee, and got crackin’.

Many people have been asking what I am packing. Well here is a rough list:

  • Cotton tshirtsImage
  • Cotton capris
  • 1 pair of jeans/ 1 pair of cargo pants
  • Tennis shoes
  • Boat shoes
  • Shower sandals
  • Leggings
  • Undergarments 🙂 Socks!
  • Light sweater
  • Sunglasses
  • Travel toiletries
  • Umbrella
  • Outlet adapter/cords
  • Malaria medicine
  • Other standard medicine (ibuprofen, etc)
  • Pens/pencils/notebook
  • Passport pouch
  • Address Book and Notecards
  • Bible with a list of favorite verses of my friends and family (best Christmas gift ever!!)
  • NWU pennant (Yay Marketing!)

For my carry on:

  • Travel documents; Identification
  • Books (mostly on India :))
  • Travel toiletries (3 oz or less in a ziplock baggie!)
  • Daddy’s homemade dried fruit, almonds, dark chocolateImage
  • I-Pod; earphones
  • Laptop
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Travel pillow and face mask
  • Earl, the squirrel

Needless to say, I made it into one suitcase! I feel better now that most everything is in my suitcase, but I can’t help but wonder if I am bringing too much or too less! 24 hours from now, I will literally be sitting on the plane ready to depart…whoa, reality check!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “24 hour Reality Check

  1. Lynn Sorteberg on said:

    We’ll be praying for you as you depart. What an adventure you have ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

