entering the land of the gods

a study abroad journey

Are Delhi’s Buses Safe for Women?

Are Delhi’s Buses Safe for Women?

I don’t mean to post this article to scare or worry you, but it is a true portrayal of societal norms in India. This particular article focuses on the bussing system in Delhi, but I’m sure there are common happenings in Hyderabad as well. In doing my research I have been advised to never travel alone and avoid eye contact with men that I do not know.

As Professor Dubas as pointed out to me multiple times, I am a blonde-haired, blue-eyed, young American woman traveling to India. Of course I will stick out like a sore thumb. But in being respectful of the culture through the clothes I wear, in my mannerisms, as well as being cautious, I hope to try to blend into the culture.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

